Skip to Content (Press Enter)

Before enrollment

Financial assistance

“I can’t afford health insurance!”
You may have heard this, or you may have said it yourself. Don’t give up before you start! You might qualify for financial help (called subsidies) based on your income.

The types of assistance available include:

  • A tax credit, sometimes referred to as an advanced premium tax credit (APTC), that helps you pay for all or part of your monthly bill (or premium). Use our online tool to see if you qualify.
  • A discount (called a cost-sharing reduction) that helps pay your share of costs for your medical care, such as deductibles, coinsurance and copays. If you're a member of a federally recognized tribe, you may qualify for additional cost-sharing benefits. See if you qualify for savings.

How do they determine financial help?

The federal poverty level (FPL) determines if you qualify for certain programs and benefits, including tax credits for purchasing health insurance. The Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) determines which incomes are considered above or below the poverty level. To find out more, view the qualifying income chart or for the most current information, visit the HHS poverty guidelines.